Recipe Wednesday: Asian Style Green Beans

Asian Style Green Beans

Servings:6

Ingredients:

  • 1 T peanut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1 lb fresh green beans, trimmed
  • 1 T white sugar
  • 2 T oyster sauce
  • 2 t soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Heat peanut oil in a wok or large skillet over medium heat.
  2. Stir in the garlic, and cook until the edges begin to brown, about 20 seconds.
  3. Add the green beans; cook and stir until the beans begin to soften, about 5 minutes.
  4. Stir in the sugar, oyster sauce, and soy sauce.  Continue cooking for several minutes until the beans have attained the desired degree of tenderness.

Results: I love those green beans you find at many Chinese buffets, and was happy to find a recipe for making them at home.  I used frozen green beans, but when fresh ones start becoming available locally, I think I’ll blanch them before adding to the stir-fry, as I like my beans nice and crisp.  The sauce is nicely flavored, I’d definitely recommend mixing the oyster sauce, soy sauce, and sugar together prior to adding for more even coverage.  Some people suggested leaving out the sugar, which I may try next time as well.

Overall this was a quick and easy side, which I’m sure I’ll be making again!

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe Wednesday: Asian Style Green Beans

  1. Newt Kai says:

    I am making stir fry for dinner and have some fresh green beans. I am going to try this recipe, maybe just add a dash of toasted sesame seeds. Yum!

  2. Mindy says:

    Reduce the sugar but don’t leave it out completely. The sugar does make a difference to the taste. Try adding a bit of rice wine as well.

    I love stir fries.

  3. Em says:

    I just tried this with fresh green beans… blanched first. Delicious!

  4. ronniesoul says:

    Em, thanks for sharing. Will definitely try it next time I do a stir fry.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

Leave a Reply

