Recipe Wednesday: Hello Portobello

Hello Portobello
Cooking with All Things Trader Joe’s by Deanna Gunn and Wona Miniati.

Servings:2

Ingredients:

  • 2 portobello caps, stems removed
  • pinch salt
  • 2 slices Havarti cheese
  • 1 T julienne sliced sun dried tomatoes, drained, and 1 T oil from jar
  • 1 tsp finely chopped fresh basil
  • 1 (5 oz) bag organic baby spring mix or 3 c. other salad mix
  • 1/2 c. organic microgreens

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Place portobello caps gill-side up on a lightly oiled baking sheet. Sprinkle each with salt.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes. During the last 2 minutes, add cheese on top and sprinkle on sun dried tomatoes.
  4. Remove from oven. Don’t worry if portobellos don’t seem quite done. They will continue to cook and will become very juicy in minutes.
  5. Place a big handful of salad mix on each plate and place one portobello cap on top. Top each cap with microgreens.
  6. Mix together oil & basil and drizzle on top of each cap and salad.

If you follow me on twitter, you may have noticed that I love Trader Joe’s, so you can well imagine how excited I was to discover an entire book about cooking with TJ’s.  The book did not disappoint, there are quite a few recipes I’ve lined up to test from it, starting with this one.

Since I wanted to use what I had on hand, I modified the recipe above in slight but significant ways.

  • I don’t often use sun dried tomatoes when cooking, so I omitted those.  I also omitted the basil, which I love but don’t have in my garden yet this year.
  • In place of the Havarti I used shredded Romano, which I always keep stocked.
  • I substituted sprouts for the micro-greens.

Results: This was good, but I think it would have been much better had I followed the recipe more closely.  While I probably will never use Havarti, a cheese which is more melty/gooey than Romano will definitely add to the flavor/texture of the overall meal.  Also, the dish did seem to be lacking a bit of flavor, which the tomatoes probably would have provided.  One last hint – the mushroom was still quite warm when I put it over the salad, and the greens did not hold up.  All of the greens under it became limp and a bit soggy.  Next time I’ll place the mushroom on the plate first and surround it with the mixed greens.

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe Wednesday: Hello Portobello

  1. Karl Friedrich Gauss says:

    The meal was so tasty that Emma was made to promise that she’d make it again next week, and this time with ALL the right ingredients! And fortunately for her sitting pleasure, it was not until after the meal that he noticed she had dribbling mushroom juice on her blouse. And yes, it’s true, Emma was spanked for that, rather soundly on her bare bottom.

    (Couldn’t help but fill in the missing ending to this tale of epicurean indulgence)

    • Em says:

      Wow, my cooking has never gotten me spanked before, clearly I’ve been missing out! As to the juice on my blouse, it’s not unheard of, but fairly rare. I do have a close relative who spills something on herself at nearly every dinner. I finally bought her an apron to wear to keep her clothes clean – the grown-up version of a bib, I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

