Recipe Wednesday: Easy Thai Omelet

This past week has been a great one for cooking! I’ve tried three new recipes, and every one was delicious. Easter gave me a bit of an excuse to go a little cooking crazy 😉 Today’s new recipe is one I found in Quick & Easy Thai: 70 Everyday Recipes.  It’s a nice twist on a basic omelet, and you probably have all the ingredients already, which makes it a fun and easy morning experiment.

Easy Omelet With Sri Rachaa Sauce
Quick & Easy Thai: 70 Everyday Recipes by Nancie McDermott

Servings: 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 T fish sauce
  • 1 T water
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • Sri Rachaa sauce, Tabasco sauce, or other hot sauce

Directions:

  1. Combine the eggs, fish sauce, and water in a medium bowl and use a fork or whisk to blend them well.
  2. Heat the oil in a medium skillet or wok over medium-high heat until a bit of the egg mixture sizzles and blooms at once.
  3. Pour in the eggs and as soon as they begin to set, pull the puffy edges gently toward the center, letting the uncooked eggs in the center flow out to the edges and cook.
  4. When the edges are golden and the surface is almost set, gently flip the omelet to cook the other side for 1 minute. Don’t worry if it breaks; it will still be delicious.
  5. Scoop the omelet out onto a serving plate, and serve at once with small sauces of Sri Rachaa Sauce

I made this for breakfast this morning, and it was quite good, which is saying something since I usually steer clear of omelets.  As it’s too soon for my herb garden, I mixed a bit of furikake in with the eggs before cooking.  Furikake is Japanese rice seasoning, usually made with nori (seaweed) and sesame seeds.  I also sprinkled the finished omelet with grated Romano cheese and furikake prior to serving.  I didn’t have fish sauce, so I used oyster sauce.  The fish taste isn’t overwhelming, but it does add depth to the overall flavor.  I’m not usually a fan of spicy sauces, but I did dip the omelet in a bit of Tabasco, just to see, and it also enhanced the flavor admirably.

The author recommends adding ground pork and chopped tomatoes for a more filling version, or substituting lime juice for the fish sauce for a vegetarian version with fresh herbs and a dash of salt.

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe Wednesday: Easy Thai Omelet

  1. Barely Pink says:

    Oh, yum! I’ve been eating a lot of eggs lately (and getting quite tired of them) and this sounds like a healthy option.

    Thanks, Em!

    Hugs,

    Pink

    • Em says:

      I’ve been on an egg kick too, and usually I stay as far away from the things as possible. This was actually quite yummy. I’m betting I can do the same thing as a scramble too.

Leave a Reply

