In the Kitchen: Crispy Sesame Crusted Brussels Sprouts

Crispy Sesame Crusted Brussels Sprouts (sorry Poppy!)
Every Day with Rachael Ray

Servings: 10

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds brussels sprouts, halved
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • Salt and pepper
  • 3 tablespoons sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. In an extra-large skillet, melt the butter in the sesame oil and vegetable oil over medium heat.
  2. Add the brussels sprouts and crushed red pepper and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, until golden-brown, about 25 minutes.
  3. Sprinkle the sesame seeds on top and cook until the brussels sprouts are dark brown and crunchy, about 15 minutes.
  4. Season with salt and pepper and serve hot.

image

My first attempt at the brussels sprouts, served with Mandarin Chicken. Yumm. I used black sesame seeds, as I didn't have white. The flavor is the same, but the white create a bit more visual appeal.


image

This was my second attempt at the recipe. This time I replaced the red pepper with garlic. They were good, but I think I prefered the original recipe.

I have not added this recipe to bake space, as you can print it directly from Rachael Ray’s web site.

Update: Mija of El Tercer Ojo has joined in on the fun this week with a recipe for the delicious looking strawberry pie she recently made! Head on over to her blog and check it out!

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In the Kitchen: Crispy Sesame Crusted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Poppy says:

    Blugh
    Blugh
    cough
    splutter
    cough,

    Are you stark raving bonkers? Are you? You must be! Dev, Dev you need to take Em’s temp! Right now! She is terribly ill.

    Blugh.

  2. Poppy! Not everyone thinks that brussels sprouts are evil incarnate, and you needn’t eat any, done up in sesame or otherwise. If you continue to rant about someone else’s taste, however, I may think YOU aren’t feeling well.

  3. Poppy says:

    I give up.

    First Em and now Dev – everyone is ill. It is an epidemic.

    I blame the sprouts, evil little critters started it all off.

  4. Kaki says:

    Em, maybe you should stick with brownie recipes, that went over much better. Don’t go by me though, I really don’t eat any veggies. *hides head in shame*

    • Em says:

      Kaki! No veggies? None at all? Perhaps you have just been doing them wrong all this time? They really are quite delicious! I’ll admit, I wasn’t much of a veggie person in the past, but I am slowly changing that and I have been SO happy with the results. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

