In the Kitchen

I know where your minds just went, reading the title of this post: to wooden spoons, spatulas, cutting boards, and all of the other pervertable items lurking in this otherwise innocuous room.  Well, get your minds out of the gutter 😉  I’m talking about cooking!

Outside of ttwd, cooking is one of my passions.  I adore all sorts of cuisines, and love the chance to branch out and try something new.  I collect cookbooks like some people collect implements.  I have so many cookbooks (and cooking magazines) filled with bookmarked, but untried, recipes that I am beginning to despair of ever making them all.

Enter this post.  Each week I will endeavor to try a brand-new recipe, I will then share the recipe and results with you.  In order to share the recipes in an easy to use format, I’ve also posted them over at Bake Space under the user name emma_enchanted where you can save them to your own recipe box, or print them.

This week’s recipe is technically one I’ve tried before, but it’s easy to make – and alcoholic.  A grand combination if ever there was one 🙂

Sparkling Pomegranate Cocktail
Cooking Light, December 2009

Servings: 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups pomegranate juice
  • 1/4 cup grenadine (pomegranate grenadine if you can find it)
  • 1 (750-milliliter) bottle Prosecco or dry sparkling wine, chilled
  • 6 lime slices

Directions:

  1. Combine pomegranate juice and 1/4 cup grenadine in a 2-cup glass measure.
  2. Divide the juice mixture evenly among 6 Champagne flutes or wineglasses.
  3. Top each serving evenly with wine.
  4. Garnish each serving with lime slices, if desired.

All the usual disclaimers apply: if this recipe leads to anyone getting spanked, I am not responsible (but do want to hear all about it)!

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In the Kitchen

  1. Poppy says:

    Em, I do adore that you made a cocktail and called it cooking!
    You are my kind of woman. 🙂

  2. Annie says:

    Looks great – I want to try it!

  3. Em says:

    Poppy – I love the thought of being your kind of girl 🙂

    Annie – I do hope you like it! Let me know what you think when you get a chance to try it.

  4. That does sound good, Em. But what else would anyone make grenadine from than pomegranates?

  5. Kaki says:

    I don’t have any of these ingredients in the house but it sounds delicious. I will keep it in mind. it sounds refreshing for the summer.

  6. scarlet says:

    Em, I also have so many cookbooks and cooking magazines and great plans to try new things. I am very excited about your new venture! I am sure we will not get into any trouble drinking cocktails and stirring things up in the kitchen. It is still a little cold here in April so heating things up also sounds like a great plan!

    I’m right behind you, with the cocktail shaker and the pomegranate juice!

  7. Em says:

    As Dev has pointed out, grenadine is traditionally made with pomegranate juice. There are other varieties one can find, and any will work.

    Kaki – It is great for any time of year, we often have it with Christmas dinner for something a little special and out of the ordinary.

    Scarlet – I’m SO glad to hear I’m not the only one collecting cookbooks like crazy 🙂 I can’t wait to see how this goes, either!

  8. dd says:

    Em, I really didn’t know Grenadine was made with pomegranate, although I gues I kenw it wasn;t made with crushed Grenadier Guards! I love, easy to make cocktails, and will definately try this one.

    I also have bookshelves full of cook books and clippings and love trying new recipes.

    • Em says:

      Hi, dd! You learn something new every day, huh? I’m so glad to know that so many of us are enamored of cooking. I can’t wait to share the next recipes with you, but would also love to hear some of your favorites!

  9. Kaki says:

    Em, I love cooking and collecting cookbooks too. I always make my own food when entertaining. I really need to actually make something from them instead of just reading them.

Leave a Reply

