A moth to the flame

Do you know that feeling of standing across the room from him, watching as he beckons you to his side?  That feeling of dread and longing deep in the pit of your stomach that tells you not to go, even as it propels you forward?

This is not that feeling.

This feels like standing just a little too close to a bonfire.  From a distance its warmth and light entrances you – pulling you closer and closer until suddenly the heat is lapping dangerously at your skin and the flames are blinding.  There is no comfort here, no safe haven.  The fire is big and bright and just a little bit out of control.  It wants to devour you, and it does not care if you get burned.

Some days I feel brave.  Some days I can sneak up and bask in the fire’s warmth.  Some days I forget what it’s like to be burned.

This is not one of those days.

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in the hidden me. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A moth to the flame

  1. Abel says:

    Wow. Love this – great imagery, so succinct and so powerfully written.

  2. Kate says:

    Wow Em…that is so gorgeous!

  3. Haron says:

    A beautiful post – reflects so well that feeling of dangerous attraction I’ve felt at times. Well said.

    • Em says:

      Hi, Haron, and thanks. It’s been very interesting to me to read the comments on this thread and see how other people have interpreted my words and what they’ve taken from it.

  4. scarlet says:

    Em, I love the spareness of this, the way the feeling builds and settles into me as I read, and yet you use so few words to explain so many emotions. Why do our hearts leap at the first hint of flames, while at the same time we want to flee? I love to read what you write, because you are a girl like me.

    • Em says:

      Scarlet, I meant to respond to this much sooner, but life always seems to get in the way. I very much enjoy the idea of being a girl like you 🙂

  5. Poppy says:

    Perfect.
    I am afraid to say too much in case I break the spell.

  6. dd says:

    Em, fantastic…if a little close to home!

  7. Manda says:

    Beautiful Em. I don’t know what it feels like when you ladies feel this but from your description I’ve gotten a pretty good idea. Absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

