Hidden in plain sight

Every year about this time I get a lovely catalog from National Geographic filled with delightful items to tempt me during the holiday shopping season.  Flipping through the colorful pages last night, my eyes fell on this:

Personalized Chinese Scroll
Artists in Beijing translate the word of your choice and paint it in rich black ink on a red rice-paper background mounted on green or brown silk. Arrives ready to hang, rolled in a gift box with a card explaining the translation process.

I began to wonder what word I might want painted on my very own scroll.  My name seemed boring, the usual words of peace and love too generic.  Perhaps something more unique, more personal, something that could hang every day in my home with a secret message just for me.

Personalized Egyptian pendants
These beautiful cartouches can be personalized with the name or phrase of your choosing in Egyptian hieroglyphics. Limit of eight letters.

I continued through the catalog, my eyes watchful for gift ideas for the special people in my life, but my mind was stuck on the scroll, then the cartouche and seal.  I could think of so many words I might like to have painted or set or carved… but what would the people taking the orders think?  What might they say, working in their factories, creating these unique pieces just for me?  Would they laugh, or blush?  I was, just thinking about it.

Personalized Chinese hand carved seal
Chinese artisans will hand-carve this soapstone chop topped with a hand-carved dragon with the given name or word of your choice, and provide a card explaining how the word was translated into Chinese characters. Choose your or a loved one’s first name, or an inspiring word or salutation.

Finally, I put the catalog aside.  After all, this is the time of year to shop for others, not ourselves 😉  But maybe… some other time…

So… what would you have inscribed?  Please share!

About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in fun. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hidden in plain sight

  1. Kate says:

    I think it depends on my mood…I’d need two versions of the cartouche, one that reads “Spank me” and one that reads “Good girl.” LOL. 😉

    I want to know what you would have engraved!

  2. scarlet says:

    “Believe in the magic.”

    It is my motto for my whole life. And if it is in code, it is even a little more magical, don’t you think?

  3. Jay Walker says:

    Hmmm I think I would just go for the Hyro ones..in Sir and Subbie. That way I would have a really cool necklace and that whole His & Her’s thing going on.

    Hi, cool blog btw. I found you through Devlins site and liked what I found so I added you to my blogroll, hope you dont mind.

    Jay

  4. Hmm, I’d be tempted to have ‘Naughty girls stand here’ inscribed on the scroll and then hang it in the naughty corner ;-).

  5. Abel says:

    Such a cool post. I now *so* want an oriental scroll for our front room. But what to choose? Simply “spank”? A selection of such items with different implements – so one could point to the relevant scroll to inform a girl what she was about to get? Or a matching pair: “Discipline” and “Punishment”?

  6. Em says:

    Kate – I honestly can’t decide! This is why I’ll probably never order one, I’d always be changing my mind about what I wanted it to say. “Good girl” perhaps? Then every time I got in trouble I could just point to the scroll as my get-out-of-trouble card? 😉

    Scarlet, that is a wonderful choice! And yes, when hidden in code it is even more magical.

    Jay, I love your idea of a his and hers set. I think if I were to do that, I’d have one engraved with “right” and one with “wrong.” I think you can guess which one I’d keep for myself and which I’d give to my partner. And the best part? He’d never know what it said!

    Gracie – At least it would give you something pretty to look at instead of just a boring wall 🙂

    Abel – The implement idea is particularly cruel, I love it!

  7. Pingback: Countdown to 2012: Day 10. Secretly kinky gifts? | This Kinky Life

Leave a Reply

