One Rule (updated)

Life has been hectic lately.  My work, which is always a source of stress to begin with, is in the midst of some major changes, bringing that level to near unbearable some days.  I’m feeling run down and exhausted, a fact which isn’t helped by the cold I’ve been fighting off for the past week or the time change and dark nights.  So I’ve decided to fight back.

I can’t realistically tackle the large piles of work waiting for me as quickly as I would like.  And each day their existence makes me a little more anxious, makes even dipping into them one small piece at a time harder and harder.  I’ve decided that what I need is one rule.  One thing I can do each day – something simple enough to be possible, but meaningful enough that it’s important I follow through.

I figure once I’ve been able to check one small item off my list, I’ll be able to harness that feeling of productivity toward the other tasks awaiting me.  And won’t that be nice?

Only, now I need the rule.

Edit:  Here are the suggestions thus far.  Thanks, they’re highly entertaining!

  • Emma must make and send baked goods to her friends & drink 64 oz of water each day (I do love to bake).  Suggested by Angie.
  • Eat chocolate whenever you desire (This one seems a little too easy). Suggested by Eliane.
  • Be good always & Emma gets spanked regardless (We’ll just move right along…).  Suggested by Fireman Chris.
  • The instigator gets extra penalty (As long as I’m not the instigator?). Suggested by Judy Verbena.
  • Have an orgasm every morning (Excellent idea!).  Suggested by Indy.
  • Have a least one piece of chocolate everyday and/or keeping flowers on my desk at work (I’m noticing a theme involving chocolate).  Suggested by Kaki.
About Em

A 30-something spanking aficionado and all around good girl :)
This entry was posted in fun, real life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Rule (updated)

  1. Indy says:

    Clearly, the key is to have an orgasm each morning. That way you not only feel that you’ve accomplished something, but you also might not care if you accomplish nothing else!

    • Em says:

      Oh, Indy. That made me laugh! But the point is to continue to accomplish things all day, not to lay around in bed like a lush! 😉 Although, I see no reason I can’t incorporate this in addition to a real rule.

  2. mysirensong says:

    OK, while I have to say that Indy’s is MUCH better than mine, I have an idea that might also help with your cold-fighting. I have to drink 64 oz of water each day as part of my 4 rules that I follow. I don’t know if this is something that other people just DO and don’t even think about — but for me it’s hard to do and if it was not a rule I would either get dehydrated or I’d drink caffeinated crap and never touch water. I have a very specific way that I make my water now and stuff — it’s a little ritual with me — but it makes me feel *accomplished* when I get that last bit in and know I can mark that off. Check!

  3. Kaki says:

    I think you should vow to have a least one piece of chocolate everyday. It can be any form you like so there will be variety and you don’t get bored. You may want to alternate that with getting a flower or two for your desk at work to brighten things up. Or if things really get backed up at work buy a pretty scarf and cover up your in bin.

    • Em says:

      Kaki, I LOVE your suggestion about the scarf 🙂 I will have to consider that one. I have a couple of plants in my office, but my desk gets no light, so I had to move them onto someone else’s desk to keep them alive 😦

  4. scarlet says:

    Em, this is a *real* suggestion, because when I read this post I knew just how you felt. When I get overwhelmed, I feel just the same way you do, and then I find myself procrastinating. So here it is:

    Do the very worst thing you have to do first. Just do it. Whatever you’re dreading, dragging your feet on, hating the thought of, force yourself to do it. Or at least start it. Or start a part of it. Make some progress on that, and there’s such an adrenaline rush of relief, I find the rest of the day goes much easier.

    Good luck. Also, reward yourself. Get something awful done, and you get to take a little break…

  5. scarlet says:

    Oh, but I didn’t write it as a clear rule, did I?

    Okay here’s the rule: Worst First.

  6. Em says:

    Scarlet, thank you. I’d come up with something very similar, except for the doing it *first* part. It does make a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

